For those of us who like to think we are avid readers, yet barely find enough time in each day to eat, sleep, and work, the thought of reading for pleasure is hardly achievable. The perfect solution for checking books off your “To-Be-Read” list is listening to audiobooks. Audiobooks are the perfect addition for the super busy person who lives and breathes by multi-tasking.

We’ve compiled some of our favorite books to listen to during various activities. We’d love to hear from you if you have others to add to the list!

Commuters

For long commutes, whether dealing with a long day at the office or crazy rush hour traffic, we love good comedic relief.

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Regardless of how long of a day you’ve had or the endless line of cars on the off-ramp, Tina Fey narrates and she will keep you laughing the entire time.

Still Foolin’ ‘Em by Billy Crystal

A hilarious and heartfelt biography narrated and written by comedian Billy Crystal. A NYT bestseller that was nominated for three Audies and one Grammy.

 

Bossypants by Tina Fey. Read by Tina Fey. Audio published by Hachette Audio.

 

Athletes

Fast-paced mysteries are perfect to get your heart rate up during a jog outside or in the weight room at the gym.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

A persistent NYT bestseller—if you haven’t yet listened to the razor-sharp, psychological thriller Gone Girl, you might be one of the only ones. Gone Girl is hitting the big screen this October.

Cartwheel by Jennifer duBois

A suspenseful and haunting novel of an American foreign exchange student arrested for murder, and a father trying to hold his family together. Perfect for fans of Emma Donoghue, Ann Patchett, and Curtis Sittenfeld.

Elizabeth Is Missing by Emma Healey

In this darkly riveting novel, a woman descending into dementia refuses to accept that her best friend Elizabeth has disappeared. She embarks on a desperate quest for the truth that will have shattering consequences.  The #1 Library Reads selection for June.

Cartwheel by Jennifer duBois. Read by Emily Rankin. Audio published by Random House Audio.

Foodies

Food: A Love Story by Jim Gaffigan

In true Jim Gaffigan fashion, the comedian shares his hilarious perspective on everything from coconut water to pretzel bread. And this is the tagline: “What are my qualifications to write this book? None really. So why should you read it? Here’s why: I’m a little fat. If a thin guy were to write about a love of food and eating I’d highly recommend that you do not read his book.” Bonus: narrated by Jim Gaffigan himself. Available 10/21/14 from Random House Audio.

Restaurant Man by Joe Bastianich

For fans of the TV show Master Chef (starring Gordon Ramsey), you will love this book written by one of the show’s judges. This is the story of his journey in and passion for the culinary industry.

Julia ChildA Life by Laura Shapiro

For French-trained chefs and casual home cooks alike, Julia Child is a household name around the globe. This can probably be finished in a week’s time if listening while cooking meals—a quick listen at just six hours.

Restaurant Man by Joe Bastianich. Read by Joe Bastianich. Audio published by Brilliance Audio.

Parents

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

If you don’t know who Rainbow Rowell is by now, you must be living in a cave. Best known for her highly acclaimed YA novels, Rowell now returns to writing for adults. It dances the line between hilarious and heart-wrenching love, marriage, family life (a working mom and stay-at-home dad) and most importantly, magic phones. I have personally read this book and finished it in two sittings. I could not put it down. Definitely the best book I’ve read this summer. Narrated by Rebecca Lowman, the well-loved narrator of Fangirl and Eleanor & Park.

All Joy and No Fun by Jennifer Senior

A deeply researched and deeply honest parenting book that asks: “What are the effects of children on their parents?” The author discusses real-life issues, analyzing the many ways kids reshape their parent’s lives—marriage, friendships, jobs, hobbies, sense of self, etc.

Landline by Rainbow Rowell. Read by Rebecca Lowman. Audio published by Macmillan Audio.

Busy People

I Am Having So Much Fun Here without You by Courtney Maum

This reverse love story set in Paris and London, begs the question: is it really possible to fall back in love with your spouse? This is the perfect portrait of an imperfect family—and a heartfelt exploration of marriage, love, and fidelity. One of the most talked about books of the summer and has been featured in O Magazine, Glamour, People Magazine and more!

 A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

At just about 34 hours, this is the perfect book to listen to in audio—because who has time to read a 900 page book? The basis of the wildly popular HBO series, A Game of Thrones is Book 1 in the A Song of Fire and Ice series and is perfect for anyone who loves quality fantasy writing.

I Am Having So Much Fun Here without You by Courtney Maum. Read by Sam Devereaux. Audio published by Dreamscape Media.

Book Lovers

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

The perfect tagline: “The Goldfinch is a mesmerizing, stay-up-all-night and tell-all-your-friends triumph, an old-fashioned story of loss and obsession, survival and self-invention, and the ruthless machinations of fate.” The recipient of two Audie Nominees and winner of the Pulitzer Prize.

Summer House with Swimming Pool by Herman Koch

A thought-provoking, insightful novel: a medical procedure goes wrong and a famous actor is dead. The circumstances surrounding this death begin to reveal the disturbing reality behind that summer’s tragedy. A must-read for mystery fans that appreciate high-quality writing.

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami

In the author’s signature style, Murakami takes the reader on a surreal, metaphysical journey. Tsukuru Tazaki, a young man haunted by a great loss; of dreams and nightmares that have unintended consequences; and of a journey into the past that is necessary to mend the present. With four Starred reviews pre-publication, Murakami’s new novel is a must-read and can’t-put-down. Available 8/12/14 from Random House Audio.

China Dolls by Lisa See

New from literary historical writer who is a master storyteller. In the style of her previous novels, China Dolls is a book about deep friendships and a complex meeting of history and fate.

Summer House with Swimming Pool by Herman Koch. Read by Peter Berkrot. Audio published by Brilliance Audio.