Fall is the holiest of book publishing seasons—it’s what book lovers look forward to all year long. Whether you love fiction or non-fiction, YA or kids, are looking for the latest in your favorite series or are searching for a brand-new voice, there is something for every listener (or reader)!

Fall Fiction Blockbusters

There are so many high quality fiction titles releasing this fall that it’s nearly impossible to select just a few. Two of the most anticipated books this fall are Gray Mountain by John Grisham and Revival by Stephen King. Fans of Grisham have said last year’s Sycamore Row was his best book so far—his upcoming Gray Mountain is sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats. Mystery doesn’t typically pique my interest, but King crosses genres seamlessly—Revival is a thriller fueled by addiction, abandonment and unbreakable bonds.

I admit that I’m partial to the realness of non-fiction and that I’m not always first in line for novels. Fictional characters or real people, I need to be able to establish some sort of connection, or it simply isn’t worth the effort. In Colm Tóibín’s Nora Webster, he has created characters that are both relatable and intriguing.  Tóibín gives us a historical literary fiction novel that shares the heartbreaking story of a widow at forty, with four children and not a penny to her name. Nora becomes so lost in her own grief that she becomes blind to the suffering of her children. A must-read. (Just grab your tissues first.)

Don’t miss these top fall fiction titles:

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell
Gray Mountain by John Grisham
Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult
Nora Webster by Colm Tóibín
Prince Lestat by Anne Rice
Revival by Stephen King
A Sudden Light by Garth Stein

 

Fall Non-Fiction Blockbusters

There are a few celebrity books releasing this fall and Yes Please is slated to be one of the biggest books of the season. In her first book, Amy Poehler is hilarious, interesting and insightful. I’m most excited about the audio format because Amy and several other celebrities have cameos on the audiobook. Perfect for fans of Tina Fey and Chelsea Handler.

Dataclysm by Christian Rudder
Food: A Love Story by Jim Gaffigan
The Innovators by Walter Isaacson
Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris
Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham
Underground Girls of Kabul by Jenny Nordberg
What If? By Randall Monroe
Yes Please by Amy Poehler

 

Teens & Kids Fall Blockbusters

Am I the only one who hasn’t read Meg Wolitzer’s The Interestings yet? It’s on my TBR list, I swear. Belzhar is a mystery that borders paranormal, yet characters remain decidedly “normal.” When a school assignment takes Jam, a teen who is mourning the loss of her boyfriend, into the mysterious world of Belzhar, Jam is reunited with the past. A novel about love, grief and acceptance, both teens and adults will love Wolitzer’s YA debut.

Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer
Blue Lily, Blue Lily by Maggie Steifvater
Dork Diaries 8: Tales from a Not-So-Happily Ever After by Rachel Renee Russell
Heroes of Olympus Book 5: The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan
The Madman of Piney Woods by Christopher Paul Curtis
Schizo by Nic Sheff
Young Elites by Marie Lu

 

Debut Authors

Though I love the comfort of reading a favorite author, I am always looking for new authors. Love Me Back by Merritt Tierce is a debut that instantly caught my eye. Marie is a young mother working at an upscale restaurant who hides her self-destructive impulses—an unapologetic novel that will pull you in from the beginning. The author was named a “5 Under 35” honoree, an honor given by the National Book Foundation.

The Invention of Exile by Vanessa Manko
Love Me Back by Merritt Tierce
The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton
Panic in a Suitcase by Yelena Akhtiorskaya
Wolf in White Van by John Darnielle

 

It was nearly impossible for me to select my favorites and the most anticipated in each category—what are you most looking forward to reading this fall?